Alabama inmate truck by vehicle while working trash detail

Published 5:43 am Thursday, March 3, 2022

The original headline for the following article was incorrect. The inmate struck by the vehicle was treated and released from the hospital with minor injuries. The headline has been corrected. We regret the error.  

An Alabama inmate was struck by a vehicle while working a trash detail on US Hwy. 84 between Sanford and Andalusia.

According to the Covington County Sheriff’s Office, the inmate was taken to the hospital with what appeared to be minor injuries. The inmate did not want to go to the hospital, but Sheriff Blake Turman said he was transported to Andalusia Hospital to ensure his well-being.

The incident occurred when a vehicle attempted to pass another but went off the road into the median coming close to hitting the CCSO Polaris UTV that is used on the trash detail. The vehicle continued into the median striking the inmate on his foot. An investigation is being handled by Alabama Law Enforcement Agency State Troopers. All emergency lights and reflective vests were in place and working properly.

“At this time, the inmate is fine. He was treated and released with no life-threatening injuries, no scrapes but minor discomfort,” Turman said after the incident. “Considering the outcome, this could have been worse. I urge our motoring public to slow down and pay attention. Blue lights mean that there is something going on and you need to slow down and use caution. Inmates wearing black and white stripes and reflective vests are easy to see and stand out. Even if there is a passing zone, that is not an excuse to drive without regard.”

The sheriff reminds citizens about laws pertaining to the roadside vehicle.

Motor Vehicles and Traffic – Section 32-5A-58.2) states that if a motorist sees a vehicle on the side of the road with its emergency lights flashing (red, blue and amber), the motorist is required to move out of the lane closest to the vehicle if possible. If not safe to move over, the driver shall slow to a speed that is at least 15 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit unless otherwise directed by a law enforcement officer.

A violation of the Move-Over Law is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $25. Upon a second violation of this subsection, the fine will be $50. Upon a third or subsequent violation, the fine is $100.

“If you were to kill someone, you can add the following: Vehicular manslaughter, which occurs when a serious injury from a collision results in another individual’s death. The accident does not involve any malice or intent but is caused by negligent or careless behavior. A vehicular manslaughter conviction is a Class B felony,” Turman said.

In this case, the driver would face the flowing penalties if convicted:

Between 2 and 20 years in jail
10 to 99 years in jail for a previous felony conviction
Up to $30,000 in fines
Revocation of driver’s license